The Mashed Life

You’ve got a container full of leftover chicken and you need an easy side dish, what’s your go-to? If there’s anything leftover and we need a filler dish, the only option I can ever recall it being is mashed potatoes. Now don’t get me wrong, potatoes as a source of sustenance – you can mash ’em, fry ’em and stick ’em in a stew AND even make vodka with them (thanks Samwise Gamgee). But variety is the spice of life and eating one starch on repeat gets old fast.

potatoes

Enter this weeks cooking lesson; you can mash almost anything and have it taste good. From squash to cauliflower and everything in between. I’ve had squash (sweet potato pie to some) and its alright, but not really in my preferred taste palette. So I’m going right for the bizarre – at least in my kitchen – and trying mashed cauliflower.

Mashed Cauliflower Ingredients
I like to keep things simple with cooking. Four ingredients is pretty hard to screw up.

If you’ve ever made mashed potatoes before, this is going to be an easy variance for you to make.
Fill an appropriate sized pot with water and bring it to a boil.
Wash the cauliflower and remove the florets (little tree shrubs) from the main stem.
Drop the temperature to low once the water is boiling and add your cauliflower.Put a lid on and let science do its magic for 20 minutes.
Strain the water out, add a splash of milk and some margarine. *
Add a pinch of seasoning (the recipe calls for curry, but being the Ukrainian I am, I went for garlic).
Take a fork and mash your cauliflower until you have a consistent mixture.

* For you slow carb dieters out there, use coconut milk and ghee to keep within your diet plan. I don’t follow any diets and am just trying to become a better cook and eat a little healthier, so I’m using what I keep in the kitchen.

Drop it and forget it... for 20 minutes
Once the water has a good boil, drop the element temperature and add the cauliflower. Put the lid on and let science do the hard work.

Sounds simple enough, right? So why am I sharing this recipe with you? Because I think society has a tendency on sticking with default choices when it comes to food, which can be damaging to your body.

The Final Product
Mashed cauliflower looks very similar to mashed potatoes. To the unsuspecting picky eater, they may even slide under the radar.

North American culture has a large emphasis on carbs and starchy foods. But if that’s all you eat, your body is going to reflect it. Changing up your vegetable choices can help get your body more of the nutrients you may be lacking by defaulting to potatoes every meal – because as my sister will never let me forget, a potato is a starch, not a vegetable.

I got positive reviews on mashed cauliflower in my house, so I recommend trying it. If you or your table is dead-set against cauliflower, try something you think would appeal to them. Take this as a chance to be creative!

2 thoughts on “The Mashed Life

Leave a Reply

