Why now?

Every decision has a trigger. I chose to give cooking a legitimate chance after beginning to read The 4-Hour Chef by Timothy Ferriss. I didn’t even buy this book to learn how to cook. I bought it because Ferriss is using cooking as a vessel to teach readers the learning concepts –  the 80/20 Rule, META Learning – he uses to learn how to do anything in record time. It’s really interesting stuff and at the end of the day, the thing I enjoy most is learning how to do new things.

Within the first couple pages, his writing style resonated with me. More importantly, his reasoning as to why most people give up on cooking was so simple that it’s amazing it’s never been addressed before – cooking books get too complicated too fast.

I’m all to privy to that already. I have half a shelf worth of grilling books – even one just on sauces – that have all failed in getting me motivated to cook. Even though they have fantastic recipes in them with great photographs, they all have an arms-length list of ingredients and 20 different ways you can screw it up.

If you begin learning anything new, what motivates you to stick with it? Measurable success. If you end up ordering a pizza after the first three dishes you try, then you’re probably not going to want to try a fourth.

So this is my starting point. It has language I understand and enough tangents to keep a smirk on my face as I attempt to learn how to cook. Next week will be my first meal and I have no idea how it’ll go, but it will definitely be worth checking to see what happens.

 

Leave a Reply

